Find the answer to your Linux question:
(Disclaimer: I apologize ahead of time, because I know Linux laptop compatibility is widely documented, so this smacks a bit of "I didn't do my research". However, when searching for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Soliciting a Linux Laptop Recommendation

(Disclaimer: I apologize ahead of time, because I know Linux laptop compatibility is widely documented, so this smacks a bit of "I didn't do my research". However, when searching for an answer to this question I've been overwhelmed. There's information overload when visiting sites like linux-laptop.net. I'm looking more for specific direction, based on people's personal experiences...e.g. "I bought this laptop and it worked great.")

The setup:

I've been using Slackware for about 10 years, but as of about 6 years ago I switched to Mac OS as my primary laptop, with Slackware being relegated to server boxes and a media box connected to my TV.

I'm now curious to buy a new Laptop on which to run Slackware 14 (and beyond). I'd like to toy around with Linux development and get a sense for the state of the OS, as well as perhaps contribute to KDE or build some toy apps. I've toyed with VMWare and Parallels some, but the experience is just not the same as living on a dedicated Slackware machine. I'm also concerned about the security of both Mac OS and Windows and would like to own a system that I'm comfortable is reasonably unbreakable. Finally, my Mac laptop is company-provided, and I'd like to have a machine that's clearly my own, with my own data (strongly encrypted via peer-reviewed code, as opposed to something like FileVault).

I know there are a plethora of Ubuntu-preloaded vendors like System76. I've considered going that route if I need to, but it seems like there might be cheaper / cooler options if I buy something more generic.

Key things I'm looking for: