Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i using qemu to install slackware , i cant ping my host ip so i check /etc/rc.d/rc.modules but i dont know which network driver has been supported and how to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    e0a
    e0a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    5

    network drivers not found


    i using qemu to install slackware , i cant ping my host ip
    so i check /etc/rc.d/rc.modules but i dont know which network driver has been supported and how to know that which one is network driver
    when i type in lspci
    Code:
         #lspci
         Host bridge: Intel Corportation 440FX - 82441FX PMC [Natoma] (rev 02)
         ISA bridge : Intel Corportation 82371SB PIIX3 ISA [Natoma/Triton II]
         IDE interface : ..
         Bridge:..
         VGA compatible controller:
         Ethernet controller: Intel Corportation 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
    when i use dmesg | grep Net
    Code:
     [    6.767196] e1000:Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver -version 7.3.21-k8-NAPI
    [     7.364270] e1000 0000.:00:03.0 eth0: (R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
    following file is in /etc/rc.d/rc.modules any help thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.jpg (10.9 KB, 6 views)

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,441
    Hi and welcome,

    seems there is a NIC and the kernel module is also loaded.
    Which means you should see the network interface with
    Code:
    ipconfig -a
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    e0a
    e0a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Hi and welcome,

    seems there is a NIC and the kernel module is also loaded.
    Which means you should see the network interface with
    Code:
    ipconfig -a
    result in

    Code:
    eth0:  flags = 4163(UP,.....)
             inet 192.168.1.125  netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255
    
    lo:  flags = 73(UP,....)
    what is NIC? how can u be sure?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,441
    NIC = network interface controller = network card.

    I am sure, because lspci tells so
    Ethernet controller: Intel Corportation 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
    and dmesg then announced, that the kernel module e1000 has been used to manage this nic with the network device eth0
    e1000 0000.:00:03.0 eth0: (R) PRO/1000 Network Connection

    Ok, so the interface is up and has an IP assigned
    You can ping it from at least within that slackware instance
    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.125
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  6. #5
    e0a
    e0a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    5
    well 192.168.1.125 is in linux it received packets
    192.168.1.126 is in win8.1 bit operating system its no ping

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,441
    Ok for this to work, the network interfaces of linux and win81 need to be in the same network, which probably means bridging mode for the qemu managed network device.
    Unfortunately, I am not familiar with qemu so I can only suggest to read the documentation of that tool.

    Another point to look at are the linux and windows firewalls.

    One last thought: I know, that bridging real wireless interfaces to any virtual nic has issues.
    Does the win machine perhaps have that ip 192.168.1.126 on a wireless nic?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  8. #7
    e0a
    e0a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    5
    i has set it 192.168.1.126 on win8.1

    u mean that the network modules is not loaded? but i dont know which one is network modules can be supported

    how to set up bridge mode for qemu boot

  9. #8
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,441
    ? I never said anything about "module not loaded"

    I merely pointed to potential issues.
    - bridging mode for the virtual nic
    - firewalls on either linux and/or windows side
    - the physical network device on windows side may be a wireless nic.

    You probably know the documentation on qemu network already?
    Documentation/Networking - QEMU
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  10. #9
    e0a
    e0a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    5
    firewalls have closed all , is it an issue on cpu mode when boot ,i have to read official document on qemu right now i dont know how to set bridge mode

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •