Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
mount /mnt/cdrom mount: No medium found well... if the drive is empty, thats.... quite normal... if its an audio cd it could give this error or something like no fstype ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267

    mount /mnt/cdrom

    mount: No medium found
    well... if the drive is empty, thats.... quite normal... if its an audio cd it could give this error or something like no fstype specified... you cannot mount a cdrom that has nothing in it, or have a blank cd...

    As for the printer... I dont use any... therefor pretty much useless to this question
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    ok, well i can access one of my cd drives (i have one CD-ROM and one DVD-RW), but i could already access that one. So no improvements there. I think it is the DVD-RW drive which was the first one physically installed to my computer.

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Your fstab doesnt show any DVD-ROM only the cdrom...
    can you look into your /mnt directory to see if you might have a DVD* directory or another cdrom .( ex: cdrom1)
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    My mnt/ directory only shows cdrom floppy and hd. But the cdrom it is referencing to is my DVD-RW, it is not detecting my DVD-ROM drive. Ive no idea whats wrong.

  5. #15
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Maybe you should start reading and learning things about Linux. Most of your problems are really simple and asked many times before. And I cannot escape from the impression that you are not trying very hard to solve things yourself.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Your right, I wasnt trying to solve things myself. But I was being clever and using an available resource. I'll do some reading... eventually!

  7. #17
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Okay, that's better
    May I suggest you to start reading on the Slackware site, the documentation was updated recently to match Slackware 10.0.

    http://www.slackware.com/config/

    About the mount points: they are not proof of hardware being detected, but normal directories (empty). You can edit /etc/fstab to use whatever /mnt/ you want.

    If you would like a norton commandor alike thing in your shell, type the command mc . It will startup a very handy program with an integrated editor as well.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    6
    Not pretty much sure why the linuxers always face these shits, anyway I also have two CD-ROM, one of them is USB. Wasn't detected out of the box. I had to edit the fstab making them manually mount /dev/sr0 to /mnt/cdrom2. In that case cdrom2 dir had to be created manually.

    He he .. we want something out of the box! Why should every single person have to edit 'n' edit the things in linux, I don't like it though I'm one of those intentional linuxers.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •