Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Okay first off im a complete newbie to the linux world. After problems with lilo pointing windows to the wrong partition I finally got slackware installed along side windows. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

StartX error - Help out a newbie!

Okay first off im a complete newbie to the linux world. After problems with lilo pointing windows to the wrong partition I finally got slackware installed along side windows. I can run, and login to slackware perfect. As I am a windows user I was looking for the quickest way to get back into a windowed environment. After searching through forums I found things about "StartX", I ran StartX in slackware, I recieved an error, something to do with not finding any monitors. I then, after a few more minutes of searching tried xorgconfig. I think my main problem is I do not know what I should be telling xorgconfig about my graphics card/monitor. I would be grateful if someone could give me a step-by-step on how to use xorgconfig and possibly a way I can find out which settings I should be telling it, maybe some sort of windows program will tell me?

__J
    Just Joined!
    look up on the net the specs for your monitor (namely the horizontal and vertical sync ranges). when you get to the monitor setup, enter these ranges and create an identifier for the monitor ( you can just press enter for the default here).

as for the graphics card, what is it? when it ask you if you want to look at the list of cards, say yes and pick which one you want to use. If it's an nvidia or newer ati card, they have proprietary drivers on thier websites.

Just Joined!
    That is my problem, I have no idea what graphics card I have. Is there any way I can find this out? Also all i know about my monitor is that it is a Packard Bell 15" TFT.