Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm not complete newbie to Linux, but complete fool (If u have much time u can see the whole my stupid story at www.linuxquestion.org->Forums->LinDistros->Slackware->How to use dial-up connection) I'm writing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    4

    How to use dial-up connection?


    I'm not complete newbie to Linux, but complete fool
    (If u have much time u can see the whole my stupid story at www.linuxquestion.org->Forums->LinDistros->Slackware->How to use dial-up connection) I'm writing cuz I still don't know how to use dial-up connection. I have ZyXel56kOmniPlusPCI, Conexant HSF chipset. I run kppp in terminal. I press 'Connect' button, it dials required number, beep-beep-...-beep, silence for a second. Then I see 'running pppd' string in KPPP StatusBar. Then KPPP redials over and over again with no success.

    I ran kppp from terminal. See it.
    I don't underst& what should I do.
    I hope u know.

    root@darkstar:~# kppp
    Opener: received SetSecret
    Opener: received SetSecret
    Opener: received OpenLock
    Opener: received OpenDevice
    Opener: received ExecPPPDaemon
    In parent: pppd pid 274
    Couldn't find interface ppp0: No such device
    Kernel supports ppp alright.
    Couldn't find interface ppp0: No such device
    It was pppd that died
    pppd exited with return value 1
    Sending 265 a SIGUSR1

    How to set up this 'ppp0'???

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    might take a look here
    http://www.slackware.com/book/index....rce=x1100.html
    under pppsetup
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    4
    pppsetup is used for ethernat cards.
    How to set up ppp0???

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    4
    MEN! I was told what's wrong! gnashley (from linuxquestions.org) helped me!!! (If u wnat to know, see linuxquestions.org->LinDistros->Slack->How to use dial up connection, and THANK YOU VERY MUCH, gnashley! treads)
    Wow! I'm from Linux!!!
    ___________________
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH, gnashley!!! Yes, ppp0 is still not found, but now I'm writing from LINUX!!! You were right: the problem was in pppsetup. I removed it, reinstalled, also reinstalled kdenetwork and rp-pppoe. Thank you, man!!!!!!!!
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!
    THANKS! THANKS! THANKS!

    _____
    PS:THANKS!!!

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by kornerr
    pppsetup is used for ethernat cards.
    How to set up ppp0???
    i am glad you got it working, but for anyone else looking at this tread trying to solve a similar problem, pppsetup does work for dialup connections
    Slackware includes the pppsetup utility for configuring a dialup connection to an ISP.
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    4
    But first use ONLY kppp, if it doesnt work try other things.
    _______
    Politics is supposed to be the second oldest profession. I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first. -- Ronald Reagan
    _______
    Slackware "you have mail":
    Psychology. Mind over matter? Mind under matter? It doesn't matter. Never mind.
    _______
    Does anybody here listen to "Tool", "Slipknot", "Incubus", "Cradle of filth", "Sepultura", "Nirvana", etc???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •