Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hi im a linux newb so i dont know anything thats going on when i boot up linux, it said: The following installation problem was detected while trying to start ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4

    Boot up Problem


    hi im a linux newb so i dont know anything thats going on
    when i boot up linux, it said:

    The following installation problem was detected while trying to start KDE:

    No write access to $Home directory (/home/jon)

    KDE is unable to start.

    anyone know how to solve this?

    also i am clueless on how to install things. i tried to install AIM, azureus, and mozilla firefox. however i do not know how to install them, but somehow i got mozilla installed but i don tknow how it got iinstalled. can anyone explain to me how to instlal stuff? such as .tar.gz etc.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    - no perms to write to $home
    Strange, but it can be solved with a few commands:
    Code:
    su -
    # enter root password 
    chown -R jon.users /home/jon
    Installing a package and packagemanagement:
    http://www.slackware.com/config/packages.php

    Slackware comes with mozilla, so if it is a package you can manage it with tools described above.
    Firefox comes in all kinds of versions and formats. There is an installer which you can install in your home, /home/jon/firefox . Most packages come with installation instructions.

    But it is better to do some reading first, questions about tar.gz (search the forum please) is basic knowledge.
    A good start would be http://www.slackware.com/book/ Part IV. Using Slackware.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    Re: Boot up Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by j0ngz0rz
    also i am clueless on how to install things. i tried to install AIM, azureus, and mozilla firefox. however i do not know how to install them, but somehow i got mozilla installed but i don tknow how it got iinstalled. can anyone explain to me how to instlal stuff? such as .tar.gz etc.
    Also read this tutorial by Jason th site admin http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-19957.html

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    when adding users in the command line if you use
    adduser instead of useradd
    it will give you a wizard and if you accept all the defaults it will create a home directory and you won't have that problem.

    adduser <username>

    Mike
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25
    Where do i enter this code when the whole system refuses to start?????
    Thnx
    ************************
    CODE
    su -
    # enter root password
    chown -R jon.users /home/myname
    ****************************

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by khopdi
    Where do i enter this code when the whole system refuses to start?????
    Thnx
    ************************
    CODE
    su -
    # enter root password
    chown -R jon.users /home/myname
    ****************************
    Do you meen not even CLI or not even booting up?
    do you have any error message
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25
    Hi,
    I logged on in safe mode, entered the code above.
    then i shutdown the pc and rebooted in normal mode and everything is now up and running....
    not sure what i did but everything works well now...
    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •