Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey there. This is my first time on these forums (and so far they look great), and I came here to get help with something. I already tried the Search ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Running Slackware on SATA drives

Hey there. This is my first time on these forums (and so far they look great), and I came here to get help with something. I already tried the Search Function on this forum to try and get my question answered, but with no luck.

Here is my situation: I have a new box that I put together: the specs don't really matter, except for this:

I have two 160 gig Seagate SATA drives, running at 7200 RPM.

Now, I really want to get slackware working on this box. But, when I do cfdisk or fdisk, it can't pick up my drives. Now, I did some research, and found that Slack 10.0 doesn't support SATA. I might also have a problem because of my SATA Controller on my motherboard. The specs on my motherboard for SATA are :
    SATA: 2x Serial ATA with RAID 0/1, 2x Serial ATA by Promise 20378 with RAID 0/1/0+1
    More on that can be found at: http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...d/overview.htm , the site for my motherboard.

Back to slack. I've found that one of the options would be to manually edit the kernel and get SATA drivers on there, but frankly, I'm really quite a noob with Linux, and that would be quite overwhelming. I've also tried looking for edited versions of Slack that already have the SATA drivers on them, but again, not too much luck. I'm in the middle of downloading a bit torrent name Slackware 10.0 CD1_SATA , but I have no idea what to expect from that.

Do you guys have any advice for me? Thanks in advance.

Just Joined!

hmm

I was able to install slack 10 fine onto my sata hard drive. The one problem that I did have was that it would not install a boot loader into the MBR unless I disconected my ide hard drive.

Just Joined!