Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
New Slack user here. I choose Slack because the point and click of linux was getting boring and I wanted to learn how to really use the OS. Here is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Fort Riley, KS
    Posts
    15

    Installing programs to the correct path


    New Slack user here. I choose Slack because the point and click of linux was getting boring and I wanted to learn how to really use the OS.

    Here is my dilema. I was installing Kompose for KDE and after running config I got a message saying that I needed to install imlib since it was one of the dependencies. Easy enough but here is the problem I am running in to.

    After untarring I run configure and get the following message.

    Code:
    *** The imlib2-config script installed by imlib2 could not be found
    *** If imlib2 was installed in PREFIX, make sure PREFIX/bin is in
    *** your path, or set the IMLIB2_CONFIG environment variable to the
    *** full path to imlib2-config.
    configure: error: Imlib2 not found
    bash-2.05b$
    Okay my noob guess is that I need to include a(n) tag/option at the end of the ./configure. If this is right what is that tag/option and what exactly is PATH?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Fort Riley, KS
    Posts
    15
    Maybe I should also throw in the fact that I download all my programs to my /home/programs directory and that I tar / configure / make / and make install from there.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    can you post the output of

    Code:
    echo $PREFIX
    (we are viewing the content of the prfix variable to see where this file was installed, so we can use the absolute filename to install it)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Fort Riley, KS
    Posts
    15
    no output for
    Code:
    echo $PREFIX
    follows is the out for $PATH

    Code:
    bash-2.05b$ echo $PREFIX
    
    bash-2.05b$ echo $PATH
    /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/opt/www/htdig/bin:/usr/lib/java/bin:/usr/lib/java/jre/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/lib/qt/bin:/usr/share/texmf/bin:.bash-2.05b$

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1

    Try this...

    I also was trying to install Kompose on Fedora Core 3 and i got the same error.
    I've fixed the problem installing "imlib2-devel" rpm for my distro.

    Hope this works for you too!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •