Find the answer to your Linux question:
im a total noob... i have xp and slack 9.0 dualbooted i want to learn linux.. im told slackware is one of the first so i figured i would start ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mounting external drives

im a total noob...

i have xp and slack 9.0 dualbooted

i want to learn linux.. im told slackware is one of the first so i figured i would start there.. i cant figure out how to mount my usb thumb drive.

i have the slackware essentials pdf and i couldn't find it in there..

i think i made a mount point for it as flash but cant remember.. is there a way to check?? i also need to mount my external hard drive how would i do that it is ntfs format.. and the thumb drive is fat32..

thanks for the help

Mchipser

P.S. i dont have the best internet connection here in iraq so i cant really download alot of stuff if need be.

For the thumbdrive, try:
    Code:
    mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/flash
    as for the NTFS drive, you'll need to compile NTFS support into the kernel, or download a driver for it. Also, for the external, is it USB as well?
    Try, after enabling NTFS:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/usb
    mount -t ntfs /dev/sda2 /mnt/usb
    although it might be sda3 or 4...

Have a look at this tutorial on mounting flash drives http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-26510.html
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    ok i got the flash drive and the ntfs drive mounted.. i cnat play any media off them though. i have to copy the file to the hd to play it.. when i play it no sound comes out.. i am going to modprobe mydevice and see what it is doing.. i also cant configure my nic for a static ip.. i tried ifconfig didnt work i am going to try netconfig and see.. will post back

Myke

Just Joined!