Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi ... i'm new to Slackware, i have installed Slackware 10.0 on my machine and using blackbox interface, how can i customize the visuals ( font color, background color of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

customizing styles and setting background "blacbox"

Hi ...

i'm new to Slackware, i have installed Slackware 10.0 on my machine and using blackbox interface, how can i customize the visuals ( font color, background color of the console ... putting wallpaper on the desktop etc etc ) can somebody help me with this ?

Kind Regards

Blackbox uses files in your .blackbox/ directory to determine what backgrounds, colors, themes, etc that it uses. This directory doesn't exist at first; usually you have a .blackboxrc file that points to /usr/share/blackbox or something like that. Go to that directory.

Copy the /styles and /Backgroungs directories and any other directories or files in there (I forget exactly but there should only be a couple) into a directory named .blackbox in your home directory. There is a utility that can make customising Blackbox a lot easier called bbconf

**Note: I haven't had to do this in a while so there may be a more elegant solution than this one. Stick around; I'm sure someone will have it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    thanks a lot for your reply ... do you know what commands to use in the console to change font colors and background color ?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by taoufik
    thanks a lot for your reply ... do you know what commands to use in the console to change font colors and background color ?
    If you find the actual theme files (they're just text files) in your .blackbox/styles/ directory, you'll see a line that looks something like this:

Code:
    rootCommand:                    bsetroot -solid black
    or

Code: