Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I am relatively new to Slacware. I instaled Slack 10.0 and configured kppp in order to "surf the net". I was surprised. I connect sucessifuly but there is no transfer. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    7

    kppp problem (no transfer)?


    I am relatively new to Slacware. I instaled Slack 10.0 and configured kppp in order to "surf the net".

    I was surprised. I connect sucessifuly but there is no transfer. When I try to visit www.google.com I couldn't.

    I searched this forum many times, and found many similar problems but I couldn't find solution.

    What I'm suposed to do?

    Please help me!

    Thank you in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    in terminal can you ping?
    Code:
    ping 64.233.167.99
    ping www.google.com
    if IP works but not the hostname, you might have a problem with dns resolution.
    1. Whats your ISP?
    2. issue the command "ifconfig" do you get a valid IP?
    3. ping the IP you have.
    4. Post any error mesage you get
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by UgoDeschamps
    in terminal can you ping?
    Code:
    ping 64.233.167.99
    ping www.google.com
    if IP works but not the hostname, you might have a problem with dns resolution.
    1. Whats your ISP?
    2. issue the command "ifconfig" do you get a valid IP?
    3. ping the IP you have.
    4. Post any error mesage you get
    ping don't work with IP adress. the same is with domain name.

    Here is result of ifconfig

    Code:
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
              inet addr:213.240.12.105  P-t-P:194.247.192.254  Mask:255.255.255.255
              UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
              RX bytes:42 (42.0 b)  TX bytes:63 (63.0 b)
    And, here is result of route
    Code:
    ernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    194.247.192.254 *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
    loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
    default         194.247.192.254 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ppp0
    I must tell you that I waited for result of route command about 1 min. I thing that this delay is not normal!

    Help me, please!

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Well if you cant ping out, no use to go any further. You ,either arent connected, or behind a completely blocked firewall.

    Are you using any firewall?
    Do you have any other OS in that machine that "works" on the internet?
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    7
    Yes!

    I have also windows 2003, and internet "works". Also, I must say that I CAN conect to internet in Slack, but not from kppp. Now, I am on the net, and I am using "ppp-go" and "ppp-off" Slackware specific commands to conetct to internet.

    I must tell you, that I am conected (100% sure) because kppp starts counting my online time, but there is no transfer.

    How can I check if there is any firewall on my Slackware system?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    7
    I can't belive that nobody can help me?!?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14
    I install last night Slackware 10.1 and I have a similar problem with KPPP
    The difference is that KPPP works if I login as root (but very slow and with big delay) and do not work if I login as user. If I login as user I can not configure KPPP account to use automatic DNS because that radio button is inactive and force me to use manual DNS configuration, which is not recomended by my ISP and finaly don't work. As user I can connect to internet , KPPP told me that I'm connected but I can not do anything

    My modem is Creative Modem Balster v92 serial ( DE5721)

    Similar problem I have with Mandrake 10.0 and 10.1 and Fedora Core 3 ...
    where modem is working but very slow and with big delay.

    I think that is a bug in KPPP software bacause SUSE 9.2 works very good , but SUSE do not use KPPP ... he use KINTERNET

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14
    finaly KPPP works
    I reinstall Slackware 10.1, I select loopback for network connection, I select the "COM1 under DOS" for modem configuration and I don't run KPPPsetup in the installation process. After first reboot, I run alsaconf and xorgconf, startx as root, I create a user, logoff, login as user, startx again and run KPPP from grafical enviroment as user. I configure here KPPP and it works ...

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14
    other trick :
    if I set connection speed more then 115200 don't work

    i think it is something about my modem or my ISP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •