Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Help me to setup my network. I'm noob in linux systems, i have just downloaded Slackware 10.1, installed 2.6.10 kernel, i used "netconfig" to configure network. I'm connection through a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32

    Networking question...


    Help me to setup my network. I'm noob in linux systems, i have just downloaded Slackware 10.1, installed 2.6.10 kernel, i used "netconfig" to configure network. I'm connection through a router, when i'm trying to ping it "ping 192.168.0.1", i receive :
    PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    FROM 192.168.0.5 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable...

    "route" prints:

    localnet * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    in a term type
    ifconfig
    and post output
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32
    All! The Problem is solved, i have reinstalled Slack But now i have 2.4.29 Kernel and no support for ACPI or APM on my laptop

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281
    You can always build a new kernel
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonyk
    All! The Problem is solved, i have reinstalled Slack But now i have 2.4.29 Kernel and no support for ACPI or APM on my laptop
    during the install it asks what kernel and I always install the bari.acpi and it works for me.
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32
    i have chosen bare.i where can i change it now? And how to rebuild a kernel ?

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281
    Well, I'm not sure if there is a way to select it now. You should select it during the installation. For rebuilding the kernel here are some links that could help you:

    http://www.digitalhermit.com/linux/K...ild-HOWTO.html

    linuxreviews.org/howtos/Kernel-Build-HOWTO/
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32
    i have reinstalled Slack with bareacpi.i, now i have APM and ACPI support, but now i have network problem again ifconfig prints:

    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:CA:CF:15:E2
    inet addr:192.168.0.5 Bcast: 192.168.0.255 Mask: 255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrungs:0 frame:0
    TX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrungs:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0b) TX Bytes:0 (0.0b)
    interrupt: 7 Base address:0x1c00

    lo Link encap: Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.255.255.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets: 27 errors:0 dropped:0 overrungs:0 frame:0
    TX packets: 27 errors:0 dropped:0 overrungs:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2996 (2.9 Kb) TX Bytes:2996 (2.9 Kb)

    and i have noticed one thing! 'route' takes more time to print than when all was ok.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    What problem do you have network wise it recieved a ip so the network is working.
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32
    i can't connect anywhere ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •