Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
first of, i am a certified newbie to linux and this is my problem (sounds like AA). i have slackware 10.0 installed and used the CD-ROM kernel when I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

noob network question

first of, i am a certified newbie to linux and this is my problem (sounds like AA).

i have slackware 10.0 installed and used the CD-ROM kernel when I was prompted in the setup. I have a KV8Pro motherboard with an onboard VT6122 10/100/1000 Mb PCI Ethernet Controller.

i read the previous thread and found that i can reconfigure the network using NETCONFIG. I am using a router that is also a DHCP. When I ran NETCONFIG, these are my answers:
    1. hostname=amilix
    2. domainname=localdomain
    3. setup ip=DHCP
    4. set DHCP hostname= (left blank)

This is the IFCONFIG output
    Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    Rx bytes:2500 (2.4 Kb) TX bytes:2500 (2.4 Kb)

Amilix

Looks like slack didn't "see" your network card...all you've got there is a loopback interface. Could you run lspci and lsmod and post the output?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Linux Engineer
    also try
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    if that works then you should be able to ping, if not you will now that your comp is not recognizing your eth0. When you boot do you have pcmcia started?
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Flatline