Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i cant access mounted partitions (hda1,hdc1) from normal users.. only from root... how i fix this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    tr
    tr is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6

    cant access mounted partitions (hda1,hdc1) from normal users


    i cant access mounted partitions (hda1,hdc1) from normal users.. only from root...

    how i fix this?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Firstly mount the drive with the mount commadn as root e.g.
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
    and then give everyone permissions as root with
    Code:
    chmod 777 /mnt/hda1
    now everyone will have access to hda1

    dulunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    tr
    tr is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6
    didnt work ....

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    what does your /etc/fstab look like?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    tr
    tr is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6
    /dev/hda2 / ext2 defaults 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /fat-c ntfs ro 1 0
    /dev/hdc1 /slave ntfs users 1 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0


    but ... i changed /dev/hdc1 to /mnt/slave and /dev/hda1 to /mnt/windows

    and didnt change in that file... anyways i cant access from a normal user..

  7. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What happens when it look like
    /dev/hda2 / ext2 defaults 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs ro,users,user 1 0
    /dev/hdc1 /mnt/slave ntfs ro,users,user 1 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0


    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #7
    tr
    tr is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6
    i have to edit the file like that?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Quote Originally Posted by tr
    i have to edit the file like that?
    Yeah, see how it goes when it looks like the above.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •