Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
When trying to install 10.1 when I try to mount / I get permission denied. I previously installed 10.0 whitout that problem. Now 10.0 does the same thing. The only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    4

    cannot mount root partition in installation


    When trying to install 10.1 when I try to mount / I get permission denied. I previously installed 10.0 whitout that problem. Now 10.0 does the same thing. The only difference is that I have reinstalled MDK on drive HDA so I can get online while I try to get Slackware to run. Slackware will be installed on HDB by itself. The installler would not mount partitions on either hard drive. I did Chown of HDB but that did not help. I have used Mdk several years but they are becomming less friendly to the individual user; so, I want to move away from them. Don

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    are you root?
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    4

    Cannot mount partitions in install

    I have used the passwords root, null, darkstar, slackware, and also just hit enter without entering anything. The results are always the same (a comand line starting with root). None of those worked. Either root ar no entry worked when I originally installed 10.0 without haveing Mandrake installed . Thanks for the reply. Don

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    The default root password is empty/no password, unless you did set one during installation.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    4
    Thanks I'll try that again to make sure. don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •