Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hey, i am trying to install my ati drivers first i tried to run the check.sh and it didn't work, then i decided to just install one of them and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26

    rpms and .sh


    hey, i am trying to install my ati drivers first i tried to run the check.sh and it didn't work, then i decided to just install one of them and got this?!?!?! i did a full install. btw, is there an apt-get like program for slackware? thnx.
    ahh, and one last thing, how do i get kde to recognize my other cdplayer, it isn't coming up in fstab.


    Code:
            /bin/sh is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libX11.so.6 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libXext.so.6 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libc.so.6 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.1) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.1.3) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libdl.so.2 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libdl.so.2(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libdl.so.2(GLIBC_2.1) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libm.so.6 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libm.so.6(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libpthread.so.0 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libpthread.so.0(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            librt.so.1 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            librt.so.1(GLIBC_2.2) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libstdc++.so.5 is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libstdc++.so.5(CXXABI_1.2) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1
            libstdc++.so.5(GLIBCPP_3.2) is needed by fglrx_4_1_0-8.10.19-1

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Yes. It's called slapt-get.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26
    okay one question answered (thanks), now... more importantly, how do i run a .sh file?!?!?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Not actually seeing the file I'd ask myself the following questions if it wouldn't run:

    1. Do I need to be root before running?
    2. Are the permissions on the file too restrictive to run? In which case I'd go:
    Code:
    chmod 777 check.sh
    3. Am I running correctly? I'd try:
    Code:
    sh check.sh
    or:
    Code:
    ./check.sh
    4. If none of these worked, I'd wonder if check.sh wasn't corrupted in the download. At any rate, I'd pay close attention to any errors it my give...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    3. Am I running correctly? I'd try:
    Code:
    sh check.sh
    or:
    Code:
    ./check.sh
    you know... i tried that before and it didn't work... but it did this time... well, thanks, now i know.

    however, while trying to install slapt-get i got this message
    Code:
    bash-3.00# sh doinst.sh
    mv: cannot stat `etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc.new': No such file or directory
    doinst.sh: line 2: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
    doinst.sh: line 3: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
    doinst.sh: line 4: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
    doinst.sh: line 5: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
    ??
    isn't it supposed to make the directories?
    and can someone tell me how to make fstab recognize another cd source (i have a cd-rw drive and a dvd-rom drive)

    sorry, but i am just very new to this stuff, so it will take a little while before i can figure this out on my own... thanks for the help guys!!! (and the ever elusive gals... if there are any)

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Which version of Slack are you running? I gave you a link to slapt for 10.1 which may not work with 10.0 if that's what you're running. If you are running 10.0, you can go back and search slapt-get for your version. It should install without incident whichever you are using. It did for me with both.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26
    they are the same... or seem to be
    perhaps i should put the file in somplace other than '/root'?
    (and yes, i am root)
    i know i should have marked it on my cds but i don't know what version i am using, how would i find out?

    edit:
    lol just got sound working... kde makes funny noises.

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Are you trying to install a RPM package in Slackware ? Better use rpm2tgz to convert the package to a Slackware package. After that you could install it using the Slackware pkgtools.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Your CD-rom and DVD can easily be fixed as long as you know which drive it is (hda, hdb, hdc, hdd, hda1, hda2, hdb1, hdb2 etc). If you dont know, just place a CD in the cdrom or DVD-rom and try the different ones.

    do this:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    mkdir /mnt/dvdrom
    Then add these lines in /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    /dev/hdX  /mnt/cdrom  auto users,noauto,exec 0 0
    /dev/hdZ  /mnt/dvdrom  auto users,noauto,exec 0 0
    Replace "hdX" and "hdZ" with the appropriate drives, and then easily mount the cdrom with:

    Code:
    mount /dev/hdc
    if your cdrom is on /dev/hdc... To find the appropriate locations of the cdrom and dvdrom, just try out the locations mentioned above...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •