Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hey everyone, I just burnt slackware v. 10.1 and gave install a shot, I have a 120gb hd and i set 6000mb to /. 2089mb to swap, and the rest ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7

    GRUB


    Hey everyone, I just burnt slackware v. 10.1 and gave install a shot, I have a 120gb hd and i set 6000mb to /. 2089mb to swap, and the rest to /home and formated bolth/ and /home to ect3. Install seemed to go smoothly, however when it told me to reboot and eject disk, all that comes up is a black screen with the word GRUB, any help with this would be appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You should be able to solve your problem with this excellent tutorial.

    http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-19999.html
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    if you just want to manualy boot it then you could at the grub prompt if you know the exact name of the kernel or atleast the first few letters type
    Code:
    kernel /boot/exact_name_of_kernel or the first few letters and hit <TAB>
    hit enter then type
    Code:
    boot
    then hit enter and it will boot
    then check if you made the /boot/grub/grub.conf file or /boot/grub/menu.lst
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    For some reason it wouldn't let me type anything. it was all black with grub up in the left hand corner and a white flashing _ next to it but when i pressed keys nothing showed up, i reinstalled slackware and tried loading Lilo to my MBR and when i rebooted grub was gone (thank god)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •