Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
When i execute alsamixer, it is giving an error alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device I have the problem at the beginning of the slackware (while loading ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13

    Sound Card


    When i execute alsamixer, it is giving an error alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device

    I have the problem at the beginning of the slackware (while loading modules)
    and starting of KDE :
    ---------------
    Sound server information message:
    Error while initializing the sound driver :
    device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such device)

    The sound server will continue using null output device.

    below is my lsmod

    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    snd-pcm-oss 37832 0 (autoclean) (unused)
    snd-pcm 56384 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm-oss]
    snd-timer 13636 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm]
    snd-page-alloc 6264 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm]
    snd-mixer-oss 12728 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm-oss]
    snd 30820 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm-oss snd-pcm snd-timer snd-mixer-oss]
    soundcore 3332 0 (autoclean) [snd]
    usbcore 58400 1
    ohci1394 24200 0 (unused)
    ieee1394 42436 0 [ohci1394]
    8139too 15240 1
    mii 2304 0 [8139too]
    crc32 2880 0 [8139too]
    pcmcia_core 40032 0
    ide-scsi 9424 0
    agpgart 39576 0 (unused)

    i cant seem to get any sound working, can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    It doesn' t seem to load a driver for a specific card, I see OSS emulation but that' s it. What card do you have and did you run alsaconf ?
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13
    yeah i have run alsaconf. When i do these are the soundcards i get a choice of

    intel8x0 Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS7012 PCI Audio Accel
    intel8x0 Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS7012 PCI Audio Accel
    legacy Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips


    not sure why it lists the same card twice. I choose to configure the first soundcard intel8x0 and it configures it and sais it will prepare the card for playing. Then this is what i get.

    Loading driver...
    ALSA warning: No mixer settings found in /etc/asound.state.
    Sound may be muted. Use 'alsamixer' to unmute your sound card,
    and then 'alsactl store' to save the default ALSA mixer settings
    to be loaded at boot.
    Loading OSS compatibility modules for ALSA.
    Setting default volumes...
    Saving the mixer setup used for this in /etc/asound.state.
    /usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1061: No soundcards found...
    ================================================== =============================

    Now ALSA is ready to use.
    For adjustment of volumes, please use alsamixer or gamix.

    Have a lot of fun!

    root@HOME:~# alsamixer

    alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device
    root@HOME:~#

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Do you have snd-intel8x0m enabled/loaded ? If so it will be your first soundcard on your system and the actual soundcard the second. If so, try adding the snd-intel8x0m module to the hotplug blacklist so it won't load at boot. The snd-intel8x0m is a driver for a voice/sound modem and shouldn't be your first soundcard.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13
    sry im new to linux, im not really sure what u just said.

    i have run the alsaconf and used the first in the list as the driver and it gave the output i pasted in the last post.

    i dont think i have snd-intel8x0m enabled/loaded. I dont know how to add the snd module to hotplug blacklist i dont even know what that means.

    sry ima n00b.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    I think you will find that u actually need the intel-alsa driver.

    Also, i guess it's an onboard sound card on an intel board, with the SiS Chipset, could u post your motherboard model, and i will link you to the driver that you need, and will quickly explain what u need to do to go thru the install process.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=bph07531#

    That link should have my motherboard info i hope.

    Windows uses the sis 7012 wave as my sound device.
    http://members.lycos.co.uk/invisiblemanthps/device.JPG

  9. #8
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    I cant find the board's model number there unfortunately. If u can find out the model number of the board, should be printed on it somewhere round the middle of the board.

    If u can find out what the exact model number is, i should be able to find the driver for you.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanx for your help ill try find it out.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13
    ok i looked at the motherboard its hard to see but i think this was what u are looking for

    FIC P/N 53-80553-00

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •