Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I have a Netgear DG834 wired Router which already has a WinXP box connected to it. Please note that I have only been using Linux for two weeks and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Slackware NIC problems

Hi,

I have a Netgear DG834 wired Router which already has a WinXP box connected to it.

Please note that I have only been using Linux for two weeks and I'm a total newbie. Everything I have done so far to fix this has been googled for or found searching forums etc.

I have two NICs exactly the same, they are 10/100Mbps Ethernet Adapter
    I don't know the make, it doesn't say.

The NIC works perfectly in WinXP but in Slack the lights are not lit on the Network card or the Router.

I think it has something to do with the NIC driver not being loaded in Slackware.

I have noticed this message at startup though:

Starting PCMCIA services:
    <probing for PCIC: edit /etc/rc.d/rc.pcmcia>
    cardmgr[73]: no pcmcia driver in /proc/devices

I have a floppy disk with the Linux drivers on, the driver is called: 8139too.c but when I asked about this on another forum somebody said this module should already be included in Slackware?

I did a modprobe for 8139too and got:

/lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.o.gz: init_module: No such device
    /lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.o.gz: Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
    You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
    /lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.o.gz: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.o.gz failed
    /lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.o.gz: insmod 8139too failed

I haven't got a clue what to do, but where it says it could be caused by incorrect module parameters, is there a way to change these to the right ones?