Find the answer to your Linux question:
Something is destroying my new install, using up a ton (all) of my cpu time but I just dont know how to find out what it is! I cant believe ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Whats eating my cpu time??

Something is destroying my new install, using up a ton (all) of my cpu time but I just dont know how to find out what it is! I cant believe my computers still running, though very laggy. I am a newbie so i tried using kde system load thing and that wont give me the answer I want. What can?

Linux Newbie
    Code:
    in a terminal :P
    Powered by Gentoo
    never ever ever use the hardened option in make.conf!

Linux User
    Use gwalters' advice. Top command will give you list of processes and how many cpu and memory they are taking.
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

Wesley
    Here is what I do.
    in X right click on panel and put a system monitor in the panel
    then it will probably show a 100% usage or close to it.
    then I open a shell and do a
    ps faux
    then
    I start killing processes one at a time till the system monitor goes down.

I have had the same problem and it turned out to be my ARTS (sound) and with further investication it turned out to be my modem and my sound card were conflicting so I added my modem to the blacklist and restarted sound (rebooted) then it worked fine after.
    Good Luck
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

Linux Newbie