Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Help Would Be Nice I Know There I A Command I Just Dunno What......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    43

    What Do I Type In To Find Out What Programs Are Runnin


    Help Would Be Nice I Know There I A Command I Just Dunno What...

  2. #2
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    from a console, type top, this will list all processes

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    43
    thanx kewl pic btw

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281
    You could also use ps command with ef arguments like:

    Code:
    ps -ef
    This also gives you a list of processes with PID and PPID but top gives you how many memory and cpu they are taking.
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  6. #5
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    Quote Originally Posted by L33tLinuxN00b
    thanx kewl pic btw
    no problem and thanks

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104

    ps -ax

    I use "ps -ax"
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    38
    Me too. I use ps ax or ps aux if I wanna see who's doing what.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    also if u know the app u wanna check for:
    Code:
    ps aux | grep -i <appname>
    will work eg to check for firefox:

    Code:
    ps aux | grep -i firefox
    the -i in grep says not case sensitive
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  10. #9
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Just a note to add, the
    Code:
    top
    command will show the processes in real time, this way you can see what has an effect on the CPU usage of a program etc. The problem with top is that it doesn't give a PID number for the program which is usful if you want to kill a program etc.

    The
    Code:
    ps &#91;options&#93;
    command will list the processes running at the time you type it, so it will not update once programs have been killed or other information about them changes.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  11. #10
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    The problem with top is that it doesn't give a PID number for the program which is usful if you want to kill a program etc.
    i don't know what version you're using, but top gives the PID number aswell as other information no problem



    also top is quite usefull to control the processes from, not just list them, it's command line allows you to press k and then enter the PID number to kill the process

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •