Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
In slackware, i have no sound at all. Not just in music/mp3's in video too. If i use RH 9, my sound works, so I know my sound card isnt ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166

    the sound of silence


    In slackware, i have no sound at all. Not just in music/mp3's in video too. If i use RH 9, my sound works, so I know my sound card isnt broken. As far as i can tell, nothing is muted. I see an error message about alsa and a broken pipe sometimes when i log out of X. My sound also works if i boot the Slax live cd. Could i copy the alsa files off there and put them into slackware? I did this with my xorg.conf file, and i think genesus did this with his alsa settings. He told me about this in an old post.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/top...tml&highlight= Where could i find the alsa file?/How can i fix this? Any help would be great!
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    /usr/home/slith
    Posts
    93

    ALSA is for dummies:P

    Try using the f...ng module, ehehe :P

    Its very easy (I think that is easier tha alsaconf)

    #lspci
    to list the pci devices, and look for the multimedia, you will see somethng like an alphanumeric code, like via8233, that will be tha module name too, so you can now jus modprobe it:
    #modprobe via82xx (in my specific case)

    Now use a mixar(like rexima or aumix) to set up the sound, and voila, it worked
    if not, let us know

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    thanks fot the quick reply!

    i did what you said and this is the output i got:
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82830 830 Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 04)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corp. 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM USB (Hub #1) (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM USB (Hub #2) (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BAM/CAM PCI Bridge (rev 42)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801CAM ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801CAM IDE U100 (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
    02:00.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1410 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 02)
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    02:02.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): NEC Corporation: Unknown device 00ce (rev 01)
    02:03.0 Network controller: Harris Semiconductor Prism 2.5 Wavelan chipset (rev 01)
    03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)
    but i imagine the important part is here:
    Code:
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    i dont see any alphanumeric code
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    /usr/home/slith
    Posts
    93

    So you dont?

    Sorry, but how do you call this, pal?

    82801CA


    Give a look at this, I found it, now try to modprobe it, and if the rexjima answer that is no mixer, try modprobin ac97 (THE mixer) and then, if you still got no answer, let us know, eh, eh


  5. #5
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    what kernel are you using? alsa works much better and eaiser in 2.6+. If you are using the default 2.4+ kernel it will be more work

    try the automatic alsa tool first
    Code:
    alsaconf
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    /usr/home/slith
    Posts
    93

    These Debians

    Always trying the fastes ways... :P

    Let he knows how the sys works, man!
    eh, eh, eh!

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    i ran alsaconf and everything configured ok as far as i can tell, but i still have no sound. All my volume options are as high as they go. I dont know whats wrong with this thing. As for modprobing 82801CA, it didnt work. Heres the result
    Code:
    root@TREMALLO:/home/alex# modprobe 82801CA
    modprobe: Can't locate module 82801CA
    and when i modprobed ac97 i got nothing:
    Code:
    root@TREMALLO:/home/alex# modprobe ac97
    root@TREMALLO:/home/alex#
    when i try to open the volume meter app it says it can't find a sound daemon. What exactly does this mean? It says to run esd, and here is the result:
    Code:
    root@TREMALLO:/home/alex# esd
    Audio device open for 44.1Khz, stereo, 16bit failed
    Trying 44.1Khz, 8bit stereo.
    Audio device open for 44.1Khz, stereo, 8bit failed
    Trying 48Khz, 16bit stereo.
    Audio device open for 48Khz, stereo,16bit failed
    Trying 22.05Khz, 8bit stereo.
    Audio device open for 22.05Khz, stereo, 8bit failed
    Trying 44.1Khz, 16bit mono.
    Audio device open for 44.1Khz, mono, 8bit failed
    Trying 22.05Khz, 8bit mono.
    Audio device open for 22.05Khz, mono, 8bit failed
    Trying 11.025Khz, 8bit stereo.
    Audio device open for 11.025Khz, stereo, 8bit failed
    Trying 11.025Khz, 8bit mono.
    Audio device open for 11.025Khz, mono, 8bit failed
    Trying 8.192Khz, 8bit mono.
    Audio device open for 8.192Khz, mono, 8bit failed
    Trying 8Khz, 8bit mono.
    Sound device inadequate for Esound. Fatal.
    any ideas?
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    /usr/home/slith
    Posts
    93

    Hm...

    Are you sure that the name was right, I mean, you went in the /lib/modules/whatever/..... and found THIS name? cause I think you dont, you see?
    Cause dont think the module name has any case up letters...
    And now things are complicating (I f...ing love it:P), but I think you will solve it soon, just let us know wich error you got (you told that in the first post and I forgot to ask you about it:P), think it is a the same problem I had today (reinstalled the 10.1, and the rexima worked no more, used alsamixer), the mixer cant find your device in /dev, try another one, it may solve your problem, eh, eh, but if doesnt, try the module anyway, and post if you still can't dance

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    umm now im very confused. I dont think that was the module name, but where do i go to find it? i can post the error i encounter when i log out of X. this isnt the exact one, the error seems to differ slightly each time, but it always talks about a broken pipe. here it is:
    Code:
    ALSA lib pcm_hw.c:549:(snd_pcm_hw_start) SNDRU_PCM_IDCTL_START failed: Broken Pipe
    im very confused. where should i go from here?
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    /usr/home/slith
    Posts
    93

    Hm...

    Looks like you have problems loading the pcm module, the modules are stored in the :
    /lib/modules/2.x.x/kernel/
    2.x.x stands for youor kernel version...

    Try looking for it with the find command:
    #find / | grep modulename
    If it foud, thats the module name
    If not, I think recompile the kernel will be needed (I think you need it anyway :P ).

    (OMG, I am getting confuse now too, sorry if I say anything stupid, am didn't sleep for almost 4 days, and that is no kidding:P)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •