Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Don't have any xorg.conf in the /etc folder has a XFConfig though tried addin the code in the XFConfig under /dev/mouse and it didn't work any other sugestions???...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    15

    Don't have any xorg.conf in the /etc folder
    has a XFConfig though
    tried addin the code in the XFConfig under /dev/mouse and it didn't work
    any other sugestions???

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    post what your config file does have under the input mouse section for us
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Quote Originally Posted by darklordsatan
    Quote Originally Posted by puntmuts
    [offtopic]
    X.org does not exist very long
    [/offtopic]
    Do you mean that it wont exist for long, or that its recent
    Sorry, english isn't my mother tongue. However, X.org (the XFree86 fork) is recent. I think the rest of the reply explains that
    Thanks.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    15
    This is what in the XF86Config file


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Core Pointer's InputDevice section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "InputDevice"

    # Identifier and driver

    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"

    # On platforms where PnP mouse detection is supported the following
    # protocol setting can be used when using a newer PnP mouse:

    # Option "Protocol" "Auto"

    # The available mouse protocols types that you can set below are:
    # Auto BusMouse GlidePoint GlidePointPS/2 IntelliMouse IMPS/2
    # Logitech Microsoft MMHitTab MMSeries Mouseman MouseManPlusPS/2
    # MouseSystems NetMousePS/2 NetScrollPS/2 OSMouse PS/2 SysMouse
    # ThinkingMouse ThinkingMousePS/2 Xqueue
    Option "Protocol" "PS/2"

    # The mouse device. The device is normally set to /dev/mouse,
    # which is usually a symbolic link to the real device.

    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    # Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    # Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS0"
    # Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS1"

    # When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
    # the following line.

    # Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

    # Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
    # almost every case these lines should be omitted.

    # Option "BaudRate" "9600"
    # Option "SampleRate" "150"

    # Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
    # Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

    # Option "Emulate3Buttons"
    # Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"

    # ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

    # Option "ChordMiddle"

    EndSection

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South America
    Posts
    152
    The try adding

    Code:
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    below the line
    Code:
     Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"

  6. #16
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Mouse1"
            Driver      "mouse"
            Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    #        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
            Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
            Option      "Buttons" "5"
            Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    The protocol should be changed as well .
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    15
    thanks for all the info people

    changed the protocol to IMPS/2
    and added Option "Buttons" "5"
    can now scroll

  8. #18
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    if xf86config then u may need to also add
    Code:
    Option      "buttons" "5"
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •