Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am about to install slackware10.1 onto my system. I already have fedora and m$xp installed and I am currently using grub. Will I be able to use configure grub ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414

    Lilo v. Grub


    I am about to install slackware10.1 onto my system. I already have fedora and m$xp installed and I am currently using grub. Will I be able to use configure grub during the install process or will I have to install lilo to use slackware?
    If lilo is the way to go can someone point out a good tutorial on configuring and using it?
    Thanks
    registered linux user: 387197

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You should go with LiLo. I read somewhere earlier on this forum somebody saying that Grub doesn't come with Slack.
    So go ahead and use LiLo.
    When installing, make sure that it gives you the option to add Windows to the bootloader, and install LiLo to the MBR.
    If you install LiLo to the root partition or superblock, it will not boot. Upon reboot, you will go straight to XP.
    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    If you are using Grub and it works, you should stick with Grub, at least fro now. If for no other reason than that you don't screw up your Fedora or Windows. I think that when you install Slack, you will have the opportunity to install to the MBR (no) or to the Slack partition (yes). If not, no big deal. Grub is pretty easy to work with, especially if you already have it working for other OSs. Install Slack, create a boot disk if given the chance, and then edit grub.conf (wherever it is) to add your Slack. If you need to ask whether to use Grub or Lilo, you REALLY don't want to replace a functional Grub with an unknown if you don't want to be (possibly) locked out of your Fedora or Windows.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I didn't read the post fully
    You don't even need to install a bootloader, you already have one.
    If you do install LiLo, install it to the superblock or root partition.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I've used both, and in my opinion, grub is far easier to configure and get along with. I'd install Slack and skip installing Lilo all together, then edit your /boot/grub/grub.conf to include Slackware as a boot choice. It's pretty easy...

    I'm using SuSE 9.1's grub but it points to Slackware too. Here's my /boot/grub/menu.lst to give you an idea how to set yours up. (menu.lst in SuSE and grub.conf in Fedora is essentially the same...)

    Code:
    title Slackware at hda10, kernel 2.6.11.7 
    kernel (hd0,9)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11.7 ro 
    initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initrd.gz
    savedefault 
    
    title		Beatrix, kernel 2.6.7 
    root		(hd0,11)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.7 root=/dev/hda12 ro ramdisk_size=100000 lang=de apm=power-off hda=scsi hdb=scsi hdc=scsi hdd=scsi hde=scsi hdf=scsi hdg=scsi hdh=scsi nomce vga=0x317 quiet splash
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.7
    savedefault
    boot
    
    title MEPIS at hda5, kernel 2.6.7
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.7 root=/dev/hda5 nomce psmouse.proto=imps quiet splash=verbose vga=791 
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.splash 
    savedefault
    
    title MEPIS at hda5, kernel 2.6.9
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-2-686 root=/dev/hda5 nomce psmouse.proto=imps quiet splash=verbose vga=791 
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.img-2.6.9-2-686 
    savedefault 
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title SuSE Pro 9.1
        kernel (hd0,7)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda8 vga=0x317 splash=silent desktop resume=/dev/hda6 showopts
        initrd (hd0,7)/boot/initrd
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows XP
        root (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414
    Thank you for the advice guys. I feel a little more relaxed about installing this now that I know I won't have to deal with an unknown bootloader,
    Cheers
    registered linux user: 387197

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Yeah, thanks Dapper Dan for the info on Grub, I just installed a slack based distro a few days ago, went very smooth with your help
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    181
    I uninstalled lilo, installed grub, and now.. What the, lilo is booting my system... Can someone please give me a possible idea of what in the world I could be doing so wrong?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    To uninstall LiLo, execute the command
    Code:
    sbin/lilo -u
    to install grub
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/hda
    Ae you actually able to boot into the system?
    Or are you getting errors?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    181
    What you say has been completed, and yes, lilo boots the system with no problems. Grub installs to the mbr of /dev/hda just like lilo did. Im quite confused

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •