Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm a complete newbie to Linux, I've seen a knoppix live cd before, but thjat's about it. I've looked at them and for a while mandrake seemed appealing but I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Is slackware too ambitious?

I'm a complete newbie to Linux, I've seen a knoppix live cd before, but thjat's about it. I've looked at them and for a while mandrake seemed appealing but I thought that slackware was a really good choice because I can learn from it, if you understand me?

An issue is I'm going to install onto an advent 7003 (old poo laptop) and this webpage is making me think maybe nothing's going to work. For a start, windows xp doesn't work for me with networking anyway so that's not a problem. It's a laptop I don't use really because I have a desktop and a portable one, so this is kind of a test laptop.

Looking forward to slackware just wondering about the boot disk thing now though. Do you just put the CD in when your bios is set up to boot from it, because on slackware's website there's lots of things you have to choose first which I didn't really understand :/ do you make your own bootdisk?

Maybe this should be in the newbie forum, but I'm pretty set on slackware. Even if I don't get it going first time, just try, try and try again right? As far as my experience with coding and things goes, the most advanced I've done is writing simple macros in excel and scripts for games!

Linux Engineer
    What you only need to do is set up your BIOS so it does boot from CD.

Good luck!
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by serz
    What you only need to do is set up your BIOS so it does boot from CD.

Good luck!