Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi, i'm running a toshiba satellit A60, with a srs trusurround XT sound card. I get an error when ever i start KDE. Is there any way i can get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    10

    I think i'm deaf!


    Hi, i'm running a toshiba satellit A60, with a srs trusurround XT sound card. I get an error when ever i start KDE. Is there any way i can get the sound back?[/i]

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    And the error is?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    10
    Soundserver (artsd) crashed and caused the signal 6 (SIGABRT)

    BackTrace: (no clue what any of this means)

    (no debugging symbols found)...Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
    [New Thread 16384 (LWP 2265)]
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...0x4055a497 in waitpid () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
    #0 0x4055a497 in waitpid () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
    #1 0x08065b1d in virtual thunk to Arts::SampleStorageEntry_skel::~SampleStorageEntry _skel() ()
    #2 0x000008df in ?? ()
    #3 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #4 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #5 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #6 0x00000400 in ?? ()
    #7 0x00000400 in ?? ()
    #8 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #9 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #10 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #11 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #12 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #13 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #14 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #15 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #16 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #17 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #18 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #19 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #20 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #21 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #22 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #23 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #24 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #25 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #26 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #27 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #28 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #29 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #30 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #31 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #32 0x00000000 in ?? ()
    #33 0x4055bbc0 in __JCR_LIST__ () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
    #34 0xbfffeed0 in ?? ()
    #35 0xbfffee4c in ?? ()
    #36 0xbfffee6c in ?? ()
    #37 0x40558be5 in __pthread_sighandler () from /lib/libpthread.so.0

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    KDE::Control Center::Sound & Multimedia::Sound System::Hardware
    (<<-- I had to translate this because I have a Dutch KDE version)

    Does this setting say autodetect ? If so try specifying alsa or OSS whatever you are using.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    10
    no, a comination of all the things there doesn't help. Any thing else that might be the problem?

    thanx

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    10
    i also get this: unable to set hw params

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    181
    Well, just making sure, you arent in as root are you?
    Registered Linux user #390336

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    10
    i kno isould't but i always use root + i don't kno how to make or delete another account.

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Never run as root! That would make your system almost so insecure as windows, if not even more... Open a terminal and type "adduser <username>" where <username> should be replaced with the username you want. You should also create a group called "users" where you put all the human users (except root)

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    same problem for me, similar laptop. here's how i solved it.
    lsmod
    look for something about snd-modem. basically snd + modem = bad
    pico /etc/hotplug/blacklist
    add whatever soundy-modem module you find on lsmod to the blacklist

    don't forget alsamixer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •