Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a few questions I decided to roll up into one thread. I went searching through the Slackware Linux Help file for hours and through some of the other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dependencies, Kernel configurations, and others

I have a few questions I decided to roll up into one thread. I went searching through the Slackware Linux Help file for hours and through some of the other linux forums. I want to install ATI drivers, and hear they are terrible to setup. I've looked online and found an ATI driver install how-to, but it talks about kernel configurations and setting it up according to the manual. I have no clue what this means...haha. I'm pretty new to the Linux world, and this kernel stuff is totally new to me. I'm a Windows application engineer, so Windows is something I know of extremely well. Can anyone explain to me what or how to configure the kernel?

Second question: I was looking into compiling various packages, and they all say they have dependencies. Such as glibc, svgalib, etc. How in the world do I set up these dependencies? I was reading somewhere about doing a 'ln' command, but I don't know if this is right. I was trying to install Idesk for Fluxbox under Slackware, but I'm having problems installing the package. It fails with the install when I do a 'make' then 'make install'. So I'm guessing I don't have the dependencies set up correctly.