Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
Hehe...glad you got your scrolls...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281

    Hehe...glad you got your scrolls
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by Snide
    Yes, you need to get APM or ACPI working in your kernel.

    I would use the 2.6.10.x kernel if your going to use ACPI. If you have ACPI and you enable it in the kernel then you should also be able to use your power button to start the shutdown.
    I will give the 2.6.10 kernel in testing a try. BTW, is the testing directory on the CD, HD or the web?

    Thanks,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    Quote Originally Posted by Snide
    Yes, you need to get APM or ACPI working in your kernel.

    I would use the 2.6.10.x kernel if your going to use ACPI. If you have ACPI and you enable it in the kernel then you should also be able to use your power button to start the shutdown.
    I will give the 2.6.10 kernel in testing a try. BTW, is the testing directory on the CD, HD or the web?

    Thanks,
    Bryan
    it is on cd2 or online
    ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackwar.../README.initrd
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Well, I hate to say it and to have made you guys answer for nothing...but I have gone back to Suse (for now at least). I thought I would have a better time at configuration and setup but I found myself with more problems than I wanted to solve.

    Although this may be so, I look forward to giving Slackware another try when I am a more advanced Linux user.

    Thanks again,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •