Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
i ran /sbin/lilo and then rebboted without a boot disc. now LiLo starts and begins to boot, but the i get the message: sh-2021:reiserfs_read_super can not find reiserfs on ide ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16

    i ran /sbin/lilo and then rebboted without a boot disc. now LiLo starts and begins to boot, but the i get the message:

    sh-2021:reiserfs_read_super can not find reiserfs on ide (3.0)
    Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 03:00

    the thing is that i don't have reiser FS on my disc..i have ext2.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Do you have an initrd.img file in your /boot directory? If so, you need to specify that in lilo.conf
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  3. #13
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Kernel panic, in my experience, normally means something is messed up in fstab.
    Could you post the output of
    Code:
    less /etc/fstab
    as root?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    less /etc/fstab

    /dev/hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    (IN USE) / defaults 1 1
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0


    and no, i don't have a initrd.img file in /boot. should i have that?

  6. #15
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Code:
    /dev/hda4            /                    reiserfs   acl,user_xattr        1 1
    You seem to be missing a line, This is from my pc for m root or / partiition. Without a line like that, you are going to have trouble booting.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    so should i just add that line or what?

  8. #17
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Dp you have a separate /boot partition, if you do, add a line for that too. Substituting ext2 for reiserfs.

    And you will need to put your partition label in where O have hda4.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    no i have'nt separate boot partitions....but what do you mean with
    And you will need to put your partition label in where O have hda4.?

  10. #19
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    That O should be I

    Where i have hda4, you need to put hda1.
    you said earlier you are using ext2 as a file system.
    Where I have reiserfs, you need to put ext2
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    i grew tired of fiddeling with LILO so i formated my disc and installed slack again, but without lilo.then i booted with my bootdisk and downloaded GRUB and installed it and did the config, but now when i boot without the boot disc it still uses LILO as bootloader, but i don't even have it installed..

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •