Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
hi, i'm new to the Linux OS so i need some help with a problem. i have installed Slackware now, but when i try to install Lilo it just won't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16

    Lilo won't install itself


    hi, i'm new to the Linux OS so i need some help with a problem. i have installed Slackware now, but when i try to install Lilo it just won't work. i have tried to install it in on a floppy, in the rootblock and the mbr and nothing works so i have to bott from a boot disk i made during the installation of Slackware. any1 know how i should do?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13
    What is the error?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16

    the lilo error

    it just says "sorry, but the attempt to install LILO has returned an error, so LILIO has not been correctly installed.You'll have to use a bootdisc to start your machine instead.It should be possible to get LILO working by editing the /etc/lilo.conf then reinstalling it manually."

    you know what to do?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    8
    I have found that when I get this message, LILO is usually already installed but not working properly. When you boot up without a floppy, what happens?

    Boot from the floppy, and view your /etc/lilo.conf file to make sure your image(s) is/are setup properly. After you save your changes, be sure to run /sbin/lilo. This will read your lilo.conf file and apply it to LILO, You will see a confirmation message or any error messages it incurs.


    Hope this helps.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    when i boot without any disc it says that a non-system disc is in the drive and that i should remove it and press any key

    ok.thx. but where can i see what images i have installed? i don't remember which i have..

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Post the output of these two commands after you boot with the bootdisk.
    Code:
    uname -a
    Code:
    less /etc/lilio.conf
    Then we should be able to help you to put what you need into lilo.conf
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    this is what i get when i run the commands:

    uname -a

    Linux Burken 2.4.26 #6 Mon Jun 14 19:07:27 PDT 2004 i686 unknown unknown GNU/Linux


    less /etc/lilo.conf


    # Start LILO global section
    lba32 # Allow booting past 1024th cylinder with a recent BIOS
    boot = /dev/hda
    message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    prompt
    timeout = 1200
    # Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
    change-rules
    reset
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    vga = 773
    # Normal VGA console
    # vga = normal
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
    # vga=791
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
    # vga=790
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    # vga=773
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
    # vga=788
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
    # vga=784
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
    # vga=769
    # End LILO global section
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = proc
    label = Linux
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Shouldn't
    root=proc
    be something more like
    Code:
    root=/dev/hd*
    ?

    And does your system have an initrd.img file in /boot? If so, you'll want to specify that in your lilo.conf
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    16
    i changed the root= proc to root= /dev/hda1 which is my root, but now when i try to boot whitout the bootdisc i get following message: "Missing Operation System".

  11. #10
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    After making the change to lilo did you execute the command

    /sbin/lilo

    And Slack is on the first partition right.

    fdisk -l

    will tell you where all of your partitions.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •