Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, read my signature for system specs. I just installed Slackware 10.1 on a new partition on my hard drive, got the nVidia Graphics Drivers to install flawlessly and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I'm a noob...

Ok, read my signature for system specs. I just installed Slackware 10.1 on a new partition on my hard drive, got the nVidia Graphics Drivers to install flawlessly and I am having trouble installing the system drivers to allow audio.

#1 No precompiled interface was found to match your kernel; this means that the installer will need to compile a new kernel interface. <ok>

#2 Error: Unable to load the kernel module 'nvsound.o'. This is most likely because the kernel module was built using the wrong kernel source files for your kernel; on Red Hat Linux systems, for example, be sure you have the 'kernel-source' rpm installed. If you know the correct kernel source files are installed, you may specify the kernel source path with the '--kernel-source-path' commandline option. <ok>

#3 Error: Installation of the audio driver has failed. Please see the file '/var/log/nvidia-nforce-installer.log' for details. You may find suggestions on fixing installation problems in the readme available on the Linux driver download page at www.nvidia.com. <ok>

I just need to figure it out.

Another issue is that I have tried to run Kopete and can't get MSN Messenger to recognize my password, keeps saying incorrect password.

Any help would be great, thanks.

Linux Newbie

Re: I'm a noob...

Sorry dont know about the nvidia problem, just make sure you have all kernel packages installed (source especially, this hit me on nvidia install once too) Use slackpkg as root and install any of these that you might have missed during install from the cd. As for this:
    Quote Originally Posted by lonestarss