Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello everyone, I have just finished (I hope) to upgrade my toshiba laptop running slack10.1(current) to the new kernel2.6.11.11 - I have come across a few problems that, thanx to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

static or dinamic kernel?

hello everyone,

I have just finished (I hope) to upgrade my toshiba laptop running slack10.1(current) to the new kernel2.6.11.11 - I have come across a few problems that, thanx to google and other freindly ppl in yahoo chat rooms, I managed to resolve eventually playing on this new kernel2.6 - I only have one more thing to understand to pass from a total newbie to a (almost) self-sufficient linux user

what is the difference (in terms of performance/s) between building a static or dinamic kernel? would the manual compilation of modules be more performance-effective?

any suggestion is welcome - thanx
    If you get on the wrong train all the stations you will come to will be the wrong stations.
    Zen

I've never heard static and dynamic being applied to the kernel.
    They are normally applied to IP addresses.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    I've never heard static and dynamic being applied to the kernel.
    They are normally applied to IP addresses.
    Static and dynamic can also refer to how a program is compiled; that is are all of the libraries statically linked to it (creating a larger executable which is in turn portable to systems lacking the libraries in question) or dynamic linked, with the libraries dynamically loaded at run time resulting in smaller, less-portable code.