Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
1.) I downloaded E17 (Enlightenment .17) in .tgz form that I found at Linux Packages, but when I do: Code: #installpkg enlightenment-0.17.0_cvs20050628-i486-2adi.tgz it gives me this: Code: Cannot install enlightenment-0.17.0_cvs20050628-i486-2adi.tgz: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Two questions on Slack help.

1.) I downloaded E17 (Enlightenment .17) in .tgz form that I found at Linux Packages, but when I do:
    Code:
    #installpkg enlightenment-0.17.0_cvs20050628-i486-2adi.tgz
    it gives me this:
    Code:
    Cannot install enlightenment-0.17.0_cvs20050628-i486-2adi.tgz: package does not end in .tgz
    I'm rather new to the installpkg system, but I do know that a .tgz file will work with it and seemingly the package does end in a ".tgz".

2.) I compiled a new kernel last night because I didn't feel like using the dinosaur 2.4.29 default kernel (I think that's it), so I recompiled a bleeding edge one: 2.6.12.2 but now my sound will not work, I have alsa compiled in with the kernel and all but alsaconfig tells me it cannot find any devices, I have searched in the menu config to add my lite-on drives but I cannot find them really, any kernel menuconfig experts here?

Thanks for all the help.
    Registered Linux user #393103

suggestion, if you autotab Enlightenment, sometimes it stops at t.
    double check that isn't happening to you
    make sure before you hit enter after autotab that everything is there

part two, make sure you moduled your sound card.

gl
    Mike
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds