Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
im runnings slack 10.1 on a amd 1.4 ghz, asus mb, and ati radeon 32 mb. the mb has integrated video. is there a way i can utilize the integrated ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    11

    dual monitors


    im runnings slack 10.1 on a amd 1.4 ghz, asus mb, and ati radeon 32 mb. the mb has integrated video. is there a way i can utilize the integrated video along with my graphics card to run dual monitors?

  2. #2
    phi
    phi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2
    From what I've seen with on-board video on my PCs as well as what I hear from others you can't run both the on-board and a video card. However this may just apply to AGP cards as I think the on-board uses the same AGP bus as the slot. There may be an option in your bios to enable or disable the on-board and it should let you know. If you can run them both it should just be a matter of adding another device section to your xorg.conf and enabling xinerama.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    You shoulb be able to run dual monitors (I'm not sure if the fact it's omboard will be a problem). You must add another monitor and card configuratin to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf. I found this that may help you in you quest to settup dual monitors
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    nice one dylunio!! haha!

    Erm, it MIGHT help, but it is for using twinview on a dual head card, so might, help, but i am not sure as it'll work, since it'll only have 1 card configuration.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    11
    thanx

  7. #6
    phi
    phi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2
    TwinView will only work with a single nvidia card using their binary drivers, so it wouldn't help in this case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •