Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Well, yes, I am a Linux noob, but I have used it before, never dual-booted though. I'm wondering, how should I go about partitioning my drive? I have a 150GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows + Slackware Dual Boot

Well, yes, I am a Linux noob, but I have used it before, never dual-booted though. I'm wondering, how should I go about partitioning my drive? I have a 150GB HDD and I've used 36.4GB of it. I'm hoping to put Linux on a 56GB virtual HDD and keep Windows XP on my current HDD. Can somebody write or direct me to a VERY detailed tutorial, starting from downloading slackware to the finishment of the installation? Thanks in advance. If you could, add me on MSN at cpp.eXploit@gmail.com and we'll talk. Once again, thank you, ALOT.

Linux Newbie
    Well there is a detailed tutorial on getting Slackware and installing on www.slackware.com . You can dual boot with LILO which is the default boot loader in Slackware or you can alternativly use XP's NTLDR. I would suggest you use LILO, because it is more flexible.

Just Joined!
    Do you think you can direct me to the URL? I've been up for about 54 hours because I have insomnia and I'm very lost at the moment. Once again, thanks in advance.

Linux User
    I think you'll find here eveything that you want http://www.slackbook.org/#book . There's also a dual booting section.
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

Quote Originally Posted by Goran
    Well there is a detailed tutorial on getting Slackware and installing on www.slackware.com . You can dual boot with LILO which is the default boot loader in Slackware or you can alternativly use XP's NTLDR. I would suggest you use LILO, because it is more flexible.
    plus getting the ntldr to work with windows and linux is a detailed pain my behind using lilo was much easier.
    Blog