Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Ive got it installed and everything but when I reboot and it gets to the point that it would start the graphical login screen the screen goes nuts. It has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    119

    Last Step To Getting Slack Running


    Ive got it installed and everything but when I reboot and it gets to the point that it would start the graphical login screen the screen goes nuts. It has everything from green lines up and down to just fuzzy crap.

    Its a decent HP Pavilion 7850, 933MHZ, onboard video. Nothing special.
    Registered Linux User #397351

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    Have you configured X yet?
    Code:
    # xorgcfg -textmode
    And did you edit /etc/inittab or has Slack changed since I used it long ago?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    you could always change /etc/inittab to run in init 3 for the meantime until you have a working xconfig

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    or you could just run xorgconfig, and do it all yourself

  5. #5
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    Use xorgsetup, you'll get the same result and won't risk damaging your hardware.

    Quote Originally Posted by [url
    http://wiki.x.org/wiki/ToDo[/url]]ToDo

    The xorgconfig utility could use some cleaning up. Several questions it asks are either unnecessary or harmful on modern hardware, like refresh ranges and video memory size. It could also be smarter about detecting hardware on modern systems like Linux where the operating system can tell you about the installed hardware.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by sether
    Have you configured X yet?
    Code:
    # xorgcfg -textmode
    And did you edit /etc/inittab or has Slack changed since I used it long ago?
    Slack by default boots to runlevel 3. He should change that to 4 after configuring X correctly.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •