Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Sound? I cant get it to work on any distro Yes, I tried alsamixer....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97

    you probably get this a lot, but


    Sound?

    I cant get it to work on any distro Yes, I tried alsamixer.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Is your card configured? Run alsaconf (as root) first to try and configure your card. Then turn all the volumes up, then run (as root):
    Code:
    alsactl store
    to store the settings.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    cedar hill,tx
    Posts
    23

    Re: you probably get this a lot, but

    Quote Originally Posted by peaceofpi
    Sound?

    I cant get it to work on any distro Yes, I tried alsamixer.
    are you running a pci sound card? Mine is on board the mobo and SLack found it with no help from me.

    Dyn0

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Are you getting any errors?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    de_dust
    Posts
    115
    I got the same problem bud.

    and yes, I tried alsaconf, alsamixer, and alsactl store. (in every combination! lmao!)

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    de_dust
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by zeroth404
    I got the same problem bud.

    and yes, I tried alsaconf, alsamixer, and alsactl store. (in every combination! lmao!)
    I heard that removing all ALSA packages from slackware and recompiling the source will fix things, but I'm too lazy for that. I just want it to work!!! grr....


    Edit: I meant to click edit....damnit!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by zeroth404
    I got the same problem bud.

    and yes, I tried alsaconf, alsamixer, and alsactl store. (in every combination! lmao!)
    Did you get any errors?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    I tried alsaconf, then alsactl store (and alsamixer) and got this when trying to use xmms

    Code:
    ** WARNING **: oss_open(): Failed to open audio device (/dev/dsp): Device or resource busy

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by peaceofpi
    I tried alsaconf, then alsactl store (and alsamixer) and got this when trying to use xmms

    Code:
    ** WARNING **: oss_open(): Failed to open audio device (/dev/dsp): Device or resource busy
    try changing the output plugin in xmms

    options--->preferences---->output plugin---->alsa
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    so close! I did what you said and still get the popup:

    Code:
    Please check that:
    
    Your soundcard is configured properly
    You have the correct output plugin selected
    No other program is blocking the soundcard.
    and the good old
    Code:
    ** WARNING **: alsa_setup(): Failed to open pcm device (default): Device or resource busy

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •