Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Fluxbox is messed up it set it at about 640x480 but I want it at 1024x768? Is there a way to change a root password? How would I update the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130

    Slackware 10.2 Questions


    Fluxbox is messed up it set it at about 640x480 but I want it at 1024x768?

    Is there a way to change a root password?

    How would I update the kerenel with no internet on it?

    Also this computer is very old

    90Mhz
    1GB
    32Ram
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602

    Re: Slackware 10.2 Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Fluxbox is messed up it set it at about 640x480 but I want it at 1024x768?

    Is there a way to change a root password?

    How would I update the kerenel with no internet on it?
    I'm pretty sure it's all the same stuff between 10.1 and 10.2, so I'm just going to assume it is.

    To change the screen resolution you will need to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and manually type in the resolutions you want. There's another way, using "xorgconfig" but if you use that you'll need to reconfigure everything (like mouse, video card, etc).

    To change password in any account just log into that account do type "passwd".

    According to the Slack site "Slackware 10.2 includes the Linux 2.4.31 kernel, with Linux 2.6.13 available in the /testing directory." I'm at work right now, so I can't confirm if the kernel is in the /testing directory or not right now, but you can check.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    www.slackbook.org

    read it, it'll tell you everything you need to know

    then come back here

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Changed password,screen is set at 1024x768,but when running xmms it switches from normal to wierd colors also there is a black background how can I change it.
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  6. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    The skin? There is a skin selector in the options submenu (right click in xmms to get the menu).

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    its the desktop wallpaper I meant to say
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    man fluxbox


    or .. fbsetbg path/to/jpeg/or/png/file







    www.slackbook.org

    ( I dont keep spamming this URL for no reason you know)

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by kern
    man fluxbox

    or .. fbsetbg path/to/jpeg/or/png/file
    I can't find it in there
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  10. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Would i do it before running startx or in the shell
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •