Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
No idea what happened, I had 10.1 installed and upgraded with swaret, rebooted and now I have no internet. I can ping other machines on the network I can run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MidWest
    Posts
    6

    upgraded to 10.2 lost internet


    No idea what happened, I had 10.1 installed and upgraded with swaret, rebooted and now I have no internet. I can ping other machines on the network I can run ifconfig eth0 and it shows correctly what I entered in from netconfig.

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MidWest
    Posts
    6
    root@wolfpack:/home/wolf# lspci -v
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 02)
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64
    Memory at e0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=64M]
    Capabilities: [a0] AGP version 1.0

    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 02) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
    Flags: bus master, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 64
    Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=64
    I/O behind bridge: 0000d000-0000dfff

    00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0

    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01) (prog-if 80 [Master])
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64
    I/O ports at f000 [size=16]

    00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 11
    I/O ports at e000 [size=32]

    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 9

    00:09.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. ViRGE/DX or /GX (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
    Subsystem: S3 Inc. ViRGE/DX
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 10
    Memory at e4000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64M]
    Expansion ROM at e8000000 [disabled] [size=64K]

    00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905 100BaseTX [Boomerang]
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 9
    I/O ports at e400 [size=64]
    Expansion ROM at e9000000 [disabled] [size=64K]


    00:11.0 SCSI storage controller: Adaptec AHA-2940U2/U2W / 7890/7891
    Subsystem: Adaptec 2940U2W SCSI Controller
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 9
    BIST result: 00
    I/O ports at e800 [disabled] [size=256]
    Memory at eb000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Expansion ROM at ea000000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 1



    root@wolfpack:/home/wolf# route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination |Gateway | Genmask |Flags |Metric |Ref |Use Iface
    192.168.0.0 |0.0.0.0 |255.255.255.0 |U |0 |0 |0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 |0.0.0.0 |255.0.0.0 |U |0 |0 |0 lo
    root@wolfpack:/home/wolf#
    That part has me worried - no gateway showing? even tho I tell it in netconfig


    root@wolfpack:/home/wolf# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:08:AD:70:5E
    inet addr:192.168.0.4 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:716 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:543 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:131453 (128.3 Kb) TX bytes:69564 (67.9 Kb)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0xe400

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:100 (100.0 B) TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    WGS84 phi = 45 48 31.7 lambda = 15 57 49.0
    Posts
    65
    i had similar problems, and probable fix is to remove executable flag from /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless
    Code:
    # chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless
    and after that run
    Code:
    # /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 stop
    # /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 start
    hope it helps

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •