Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have slackware 10.2 and it detecs the harddrive as 30gb, it is a 40gb, my bios recognizes it as only 38gb, and i used to have ubuntu, and with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274

    hd lost 10gb?


    I have slackware 10.2 and it detecs the harddrive as 30gb, it is a 40gb, my bios recognizes it as only 38gb, and i used to have ubuntu, and with ubuntu it found it as 40, which it is, how do i get it to recognize my whole drive?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    INDIA/AP/Hyd
    Posts
    42

    Partition info required

    Dear

    Can you please post the df -h output....so that I can make out something.

    Or atleast you can specifiy the partitioning what you have done.


    Waiting...

  3. #3
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    here is the harddrive brand if it helps: ST340014A

    and df -h

    Code:
    Filesystem     Size     Used       Avail   Use%   Mounted on
    
    /dev/hda1/    6.1GB  5.0GB     1.1G    83%     /windows
    
    /dev/hdd1/    31GB   3.36GB   26G     12%     /
    i am duel booting with windows 98se as master with lilo

    also, i have hdd5 as my swap partition, but i have forgotten what size

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT --> PA
    Posts
    170
    <irony> woudln't it be funny if /dev /hdd5 was 9.0gb? </irony>

    how big did you make /dev/hdd5? And are there any other volumes on /dev/hdd?
    Chicks dig giant mechanized war machines

  6. #5
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    i think /dev/hdd5 was around 200mb, and no that's all

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    Does cfdisk or fdisk show that you have any empty space? That big chunk had to have gone somewhere, and I think a partitioning tool can tell you where.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •