Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi All When I set this Slack 10.2 box up I found an entry on a post which showed how to make the machine power off automatically when shut down. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132

    Power Down Question ?


    Hi All

    When I set this Slack 10.2 box up I found an entry on a post which showed how to make the machine power off automatically when shut down.

    It was very simple, a small line added to a file. Unfortunately I didn't write it down and now can't remember for a second Slack box that I have just built.

    Can anyone help me out please ?

    Regards

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    I've pretty much had this answered on the IRC, however I would still like to know the details if anyone knows them.

    Cheers

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    if you uncomment the line:

    /sbin/modprobe apm

    in /etc/rc.d/rc.modules, you should find next reboot you'll have power management support, as long as its supported and your box isn't an SMP one.


  4. #4
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    34) When I shutdown my computer using halt or shutdown -h it does not turn off automatically. How do I change that?

    Most newer machines can power off automatically when you shut them down. This is typically accomplished through APM (Advanced Power Management). By default Slackware does not load the apm kernel module, and this prevents the machine from shutting down through APM. To enable the apm kernel module you simply have to edit the file /etc/rc.d/rc.modules and make sure the /sbin/modprobe apm line is uncommented (by default the line is commented out by being prefixed with a '#' - remove the # and save the file). If you enable the apm module in this way then the next time you reboot your machine should be able to power down when you issue the halt or shutdown -h now or similar commands (or shut down through your GUI).
    edit: it works, i just tried it out on my computer

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104

    OK

    OK....so i read this thread and i thought cool, I never knew i could this with slackware. However i did what the post by "kern" said to do and when it started up it said
    FATAL: module apm not found

    OK so i looked around and lo and behold I didn't build apm into my custom 2.6.10 kernel
    Now.....how would i add modular support for this without going through a kernel recompile??
    I know i have the kernel .config files around........
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    if you compiled kernel config support into your kernel you dont even need the config files laying around

    download the 2.6.10 kernel source, extract it into /usr/src

    zcat /proc/config.gz > .config

    make menuconfig , adjust

    make modules; make modules_install;

    I hope apm is module only and not kernel specific, also

    building your own kernel unless you know what you are doing breaks things



    I use the default kernel package whenever possible, the only reason I dont on this box here is because I need SMP enabled and pat provides no default kernel with it on .

    hope this helps

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104
    I needded SATA support so that is why i built a kernel
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    couldn't you just use the sata.i kernel from the installer menu?

    I don't have SATA so correct me if I am mistaken


  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104
    I don't believe it had support for my SATA controller
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104
    OK, i decided to forget about APM and do ACPI due to SLEEP,SUSPEND, CPU frewuency scaling and a whole mess of other features. I'll tell you how this works out and post any problems. CHEERS
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •