Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just bought an old Compaq Proliant 1500 Server, and I've recently taken an interest in Slackware, so I though I would put Slack on the server and take advantage ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Slack on Compaq Proliant 1500

I just bought an old Compaq Proliant 1500 Server, and I've recently taken an interest in Slackware, so I though I would put Slack on the server and take advantage of the RAID array, so I don't have to worry about my data. I'm having a hell of a time though! It took me a while to figure out that I needed to boot off a floppy and upgrade the BIOS before it would boot off a cd. Now I'm booting off the Slackware 10.1 installation disk and trying to get something going. I have no experience with RAID arrays and this is proving difficult. I can't figure out what device the array is represented by in my /dev, so I can set up partitions. I read that using mkraid or mdadm is recommended, but obviously both of these would require me to know which /dev node I need. Furthermore, the array is an actual RAID array off of Compaq's controller, NOT a software RAID built from multiple independent drives...I have a feeling this could either make things easier or present a major problem. I'm not really comfortable with compiling a kernel and using to install on the machine, since I don't have any other hard drive on the server to run the kernel from, I would have to figure out how to make my own boot CD with my own kernel, which is just out of my league at this point. If anyone can offer any ideas on this I would really appreciate it. I just have this RAID array sitting there teasing me and I can't use it!