Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Im tring to install open office but i keep getting this error. /home/lamar/OOo_1.1.5_LinuxIntel_install/install: Can't create temp file, exiting... can anyone help...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    41

    Open Office


    Im tring to install open office but i keep getting this error.
    /home/lamar/OOo_1.1.5_LinuxIntel_install/install: Can't create temp file, exiting...
    can anyone help

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    im still new at this, but i think you may not have access to that directory. Maybe chmod it, and see if that helps...
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  3. #3
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by LoserWithCause
    im still new at this, but i think you may not have access to that directory. Maybe chmod it, and see if that helps...
    I was thinking that, but it looks like it's in his home directory (if his username is "lamar"), and I'm pretty sure he has access to that!

    Phurtiv -- are you trying to install this as user "lamar"?? If not then LoserWithCause may have found the problem.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    since it is in his home, he probably does have access. However, i once chmoded my home, and locked myself out for almost 3 days.

    Chances are he didnt do that, but he may be as stupid as me...
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    43
    Slackware is very restrictive about were you run appz, I always create a folder in /tmp with the software I want to install, then as root do the ./configure and the rest of the stuff.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    41
    yes thats my user name

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    43
    yes thats my user name
    Root is your username? Do you run as root as your regular user?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    20
    Change this:

    /home/lamar/OOo_1.1.5_LinuxIntel_install/install

    to:

    /home/lamar/OOo_1.1.5_LinuxIntel_install/setup

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    41
    thnks so very much, how silly of me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •