Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I'm running slackware, and using kde, and it's really slow, i've got 128mb of ram, a celeron processor (it doesn't give me a version or anything just "Inter Celeron") ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274

    I think i need more swap space


    I'm running slackware, and using kde, and it's really slow, i've got 128mb of ram, a celeron processor (it doesn't give me a version or anything just "Inter Celeron") and it's running really slow, my swap size right now is around 300mb, and i'm wondering, is this not enougth? Will increasing it make things run any faster? Also, i've got slackware on a 40gb harddrive, and i'm duelbooting with win98se

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    I don't think you want to run KDE with and 128 MB RAM only and a Celeron. That is a really crippled proc (nofi). You could try xfce?
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Malta, NY
    Posts
    3
    Borromini is right. I have an intel celeron 766 with 128 MB of ram. I can run kde but it is slow, even with eye candy turned way down. If I were you I would look into xfce as Borromini suggested or even fluxbox, icewm, or one of the other lighter weight desktops. I use xfce and everything is just great

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I agree that 128MB and a Celeron is going to make running KDE pretty hard. However, having more swap won't necessarily improve performance, since what you're doing is essentially assigning part of your harddrive to act like RAM. Harddrives don't fill and flush memory nearly as fast as RAM sticks do, so the more seeking/writing/flushing your harddrive has to do just to run a program the less responsive your overall system will be. I would recommend either getting some more RAM or trying a lighter window manager, as borromini suggested.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    Blackbox is the lightest environment I can think of...

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    What everyone said! I run XFce and the most I've ever used of RAM is 150MB. I have 256MB though, so I don't have to worry about slow downs. With the right programs running I bet you could that number lowered quite a bit.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    When I boot, with all the services I use & need enabled, it says 60 MB .
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  9. #8
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    But i like KDE =(, it's much prettyfuller and easier to use, but that was one of the reasons i switched from windows. So which one of the others that comes with slackware is easier and better on my ram?

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Any of the lighter ones. KDE and Gnome are both big RAM eaters . You'll be able to run them on your Celeron though, just provide enough memory. But you won't get good performance. Maybe you could check out simpleKDE, it could be a bit lighter.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    i was about to recommend simpleKDE as well. i don't know if it's finished yet, but i know it's going to be included in Turkix.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •