Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 45
Hey, you have 384MB of RAM. It's quite enough. Don't worry. Processor is not that important....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    3

    Hey, you have 384MB of RAM. It's quite enough. Don't worry. Processor is not that important.

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    Yeah it is, I mean think about it. You can have as much memory as you want but if the system can't move the data around fast enough then there's no difference.

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Mine is 90Mhz and 24Mb of ram and it runs Slackware 10.2 but it uses fluxbox
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Wow ^^

    I used tah run the slackware on a 120mhz, so u should be OK.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by chopin1810
    Yeah it is, I mean think about it. You can have as much memory as you want but if the system can't move the data around fast enough then there's no difference.
    It is always faster to work with phisical memory then virtual memory.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Mine is 90Mhz and 24Mb of ram and it runs Slackware 10.2 but it uses fluxbox
    Sorry but I think the RAM doesn't meet the min specs for a Slackware box with a WM... For X and stuff they recommend 64 MB. Without it would be doable, but fluent working... I dunno.

    So... Screenshots please!
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  8. #17
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    It also has no swap
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  9. #18
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Cheetahman, I'm really sorry man, but you must be talking plain ********... I remember your threads where every single one of your questions that was answered generated new ones, over and over, each one having the level of a 10-year old... You don't seem the guy to me who gets that done. No way. So unless you post a screenshot, I consider your posts in this topic plain gibberish.

    If you can't pull off a basic partitioning job, there's no way you're gonna get Slack working on 24, complete with X and a WM... No freakin' way.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  10. #19
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by borromini
    Cheetahman, I'm really sorry man, but you must be talking plain ********... I remember your threads where every single one of your questions that was answered generated new ones, over and over, each one having the level of a 10-year old... You don't seem the guy to me who gets that done. No way. So unless you post a screenshot, I consider your posts in this topic plain gibberish.

    If you can't pull off a basic partitioning job, there's no way you're gonna get Slack working on 24, complete with X and a WM... No freakin' way.
    Slackware isn't as hard as it seems and I upgraded the kernel from 2.4 to 2.6
    It has Fluxbox and XMMS but thats all its good at playing music I also gave it two cd drives.
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  11. #20
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    It also has no swap
    I am really curious as to how you accomplished this.

    I have a computer that I like to play with that has

    96 MB ram (4 SIMMs)
    224 Mhz Cyrix proc

    And it uses swap heavily. I gave it a swap partition of 200 MB.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •