Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45
I've googled this pretty exhaustively , tried various solutions but still can't find a fix. In Slackware 10.2 with 2.6 kernel, I have configured my sound with alsa and can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630

    Firefox + Flash = no sound


    I've googled this pretty exhaustively , tried various solutions but still can't find a fix.

    In Slackware 10.2 with 2.6 kernel, I have configured my sound with alsa and can hear sounds in games and while playing music, yet there is no sound when running flash animations with Firefox 1.0.7. Thing is, I didn't have this problem at all with Slackware 10.1 and the 2.6 kernel. Under 10.2, flash sound in Firefox works perfectly while in Gnome but doesn't when in KDE. I use IceWM. This leads me to believe the KDE sound, (arts) is what IceWM is defaulting to when attempting to run sound for flash. While in KDE, all other sounds work, except sounds in flash/Firefox. From what I've read, flash and arts don't play together well in some instances.

    Is there a way to tell Firefox to use Oss or Alsa when attempting to run sound in flash instead of arts? If not, is there a way to fix arts to play sound for flash? Any thoughts or help appreciated.

    Dapper

    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Kinda stuck on this one myself. The only way I guaranteed that I would hear the sound is to set "Auto-suspend if Idle" to 1 or 2 seconds in KControl and then make sure there's not anything already running that's hogging the sound system. Thankfully Amarok releases the soundsystem when paused unlike some of the older media players and if using Xine it's a non issue. This really is a nuisance, I'd like to see it get fixed soon. Though this week I have been mostly eating Gnome, and for although there are one or two things I've been missing out the sound in flash is certainly something I welcome.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    de_dust
    Posts
    115
    I've got the same issue. I don't get any sound when visiting www.doommovie.com, or watching the preview movies.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    same problem in gentoo. don't think i have sound in NWN either but xmms and xine are working fine. WM is flux btw.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I guess I take some consolation in knowing it's not just a problem with me. Sorry to hear the rest of you are having it as well. What is the process by which Firefox plays sound with flash while in Gnome? Is there a way to have Firefox use this process instead of arts?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    I have no problems

    make yourselfs a member of the audio group

    or change the device permissions *bad*

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    You can change the permission of /usr/lib/Mozilla-firefox-1.x.x/plugins directory. Then try again. And we see if the problem is this?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by kern
    I have no problems
    make yourselfs a member of the audio group
    or change the device permissions *bad*
    Quote Originally Posted by heartsmagic
    You can change the permission of /usr/lib/Mozilla-firefox-1.x.x/plugins directory. Then try again. And we see if the problem is this?
    I tried changing the permissions and groups before and it made no difference. I just did it all again just to make sure. Still no change. Thanks anyway.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    OK. How is your /dev/dsp files permissions?
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/dsp[b] [/b]
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Code:
    dapper@dan# ls -l /dev/dsp
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 9 2005-10-30 21:53 /dev/dsp -> sound/dsp
    dapper@dan# ls -l /dev/sound/dsp
    crw-rw--w-  1 root audio 14, 3 2005-09-26 21:42 /dev/sound/dsp
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •