Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I just finished installing slackware 10.2 on my pc, I chose all the default coz im a newbie, my problem is when installation is done my pc rebooted, but the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Problem after installing Slackware 10.2

I just finished installing slackware 10.2 on my pc, I chose all the default coz im a newbie, my problem is when installation is done my pc rebooted, but the lilo bootloder did not show up, insted it went straight to windows, how can I fix this? help pls!!

thanks in advance!!!

Linux Enthusiast
    you need to boot off the rescue cd and edit your lilo config, then type lilo -v to add it to the master boot record

its probably in the slackbook

www.slackbook.org

i freshly installed the slack again and put the lilo on the mbr, after i reboot the lilo bootloader shows up, when i chose linux, the slackware loads but there was some error msgs and the loading didnt complete and my pc hangs, here are the error msgs.

VHS: Cannot open root device "803" or 08:03
    Kernel failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k bloack major -8, errno = 2
    Please append a correct "root"=boot option
    Kernel Panic: VFS: unable to mount root fs on 08:03

what seems to be the problem now? thanks in advance guys!!!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I'm no pro on this, but I might be able to help so I'll give it a try:

Are you using a sata drive?
    Did you format partitions with reiserfs?
    Which kernel did you choose to install?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Are you using a sata drive? yup
    boot:sata.i
    then setup

Did you format partitions with reiserfs? how???

Which kernel did you choose to install?i think it was the one sata.i.s/bzimage or something but there was the sata.i

the error messages showed up after I chose linux on the lilo bootloader, the messages shows up and the loading hangs