Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
here is the new error message : mount: you must specify the file system type that was with the command line. under the gui i get this message : mount: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70

    here is the new error message :

    mount: you must specify the file system type

    that was with the command line. under the gui i get this message :

    mount: i could not determine the filesystem type and none was specified

  2. #12
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by waltaja
    here is the new error message :

    mount: you must specify the file system type

    that was with the command line. under the gui i get this message :

    mount: i could not determine the filesystem type and none was specified
    Hmm. All right then. In that case I'd recommend throwing the "iso 9660" back in.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    it's back in. i'll keep tinkering but lord only knows how far i'll get haha. thanks for your help. it's much appreciated

  4. #14
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by waltaja
    it's back in. i'll keep tinkering but lord only knows how far i'll get haha. thanks for your help. it's much appreciated
    Sorry I can't be more help. Have you tried a more explicit "mount" command?
    Code:
    mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    it tells me the drive is write protected, read only. would a chmod command help?

  6. #16
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by waltaja
    it tells me the drive is write protected, read only. would a chmod command help?
    It's possible. Something like:
    Code:
    chmod a+xr [device]
    
    chmod a+rx [mount point]
    Where [device] is /dev/cdrom and [mount point] is /mnt/cdrom...But don't quote me on this. It's been a while since I've had to do it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    i used the chmod command as specified. i had also earlier added back in the iso9660 line to my fstab file. now it says, : mount: file system must be specified. i had thought iso9660 was the file system. is this correct? what would the file system be? or is it system dependant?

    thanks once again for your help

  8. #18
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by waltaja
    i used the chmod command as specified. i had also earlier added back in the iso9660 line to my fstab file. now it says, : mount: file system must be specified. i had thought iso9660 was the file system. is this correct? what would the file system be? or is it system dependant?

    thanks once again for your help
    The file system should be iso9660, as far as I know.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    thanks for your help. i'm keep fiddling. thanks again

  10. #20
    Linux User PsypherPunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by waltaja
    it tells me the drive is write protected, read only. would a chmod command help?
    When it tells you this, does it actually mount the drive though? CDROMs are read-only and i've seen this warning when successfully mounting a CD before.
    Registered Linux User #379728

    SuSE 10.3 :: Athlon XP 3000+ :: AsRock K7VT4A Pro :: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT :: C-Media 8738

    www.psypherpunk.org.uk

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •