Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have a scsi cd drive which is connected to a scsi sound card. I know that both of these work, and when installing slackware i noticed that it says ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274

    how to get a scsi cd drive working


    I have a scsi cd drive which is connected to a scsi sound card. I know that both of these work, and when installing slackware i noticed that it says if you use a scsi device choose a kernel that supports it. So i chose scsi.i or something because it sounds like it supports scsi. Later on in the installation it says that you might need boot parameters for a scsi device, or something. So i didn't know what to do here, so i just pressed enter and continued, now that ive got it installed. I want to get it working, what type of things do i need to do now?

    also the fonts are all dodgy in KDE, how can i change this?
    and alsomore. How do i set up my internet, i wouldn't know what to do when it asks for my IP and stuf, and dns server i just don't know, can someone help me here?

    i love linux so many problems

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    you shouldn't be using slackware , then some of your problems would go away

    the SCSI cdrom will probably be /dev/sr0, mine is

    check your boot logs 'dmesg | less' to see

  3. #3
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by kern
    you shouldn't be using slackware , then some of your problems would go away

    the SCSI cdrom will probably be /dev/sr0, mine is

    check your boot logs 'dmesg | less' to see
    Why shouldn't I be using slackwar?
    i love it, it's the best distro i've found out of all the ones ive tried, which is like 8

    ill try those things later

  4. #4
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    can anyone else help me?

  5. #5
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    come on people, these things are really starting to annoy me

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    Hi

    What kernel are you using ?

    Code:
    uname -r
    will tell you.

    Can you show us a copy of your fstab please.

    What is your CD drive currently showing as, ie /dev/hdc, /dev/sda etc.

    You could try putting a CD in and typing, as root:

    Code:
    mount -t iso9660 /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom
    then

    Code:
    cd /mnt/cdrom
    to see if you can see the contents of the disk.

    Make sure that you have a folder called "cdrom" in the /mnt directory before you try this.

    Then we will see if we can get you going. I suspect you need to either add a parameter to Lilo, or determine the correct naming convention for your device. Neither are too difficult, so stick with it.

    Regards

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  7. #7
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    I'm not on the computer at this moment, so i will tell you what i remember.

    My kernel is scsi.i, thats what i selected when installing it

    my fstab....I can't get that for you right now, i will try later.

    I have a normal IDE cd drive as hdc, and when i try to mount my scsi drive it just says "/dev/sr0 is not a valid block device"


    Then we will see if we can get you going. I suspect you need to either add a parameter to Lilo, or determine the correct naming convention for your device. Neither are too difficult, so stick with it.
    What do you mean by this? What do i have to do with LILO?

    Thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    Hi

    I suspect that your kernel will be a 2.4.X.X variant (just named scsi.i) which is default for Slackware. The later 2.6.X.X kernels sort all this out for you.

    I think you need to run scsi emulation so that the system recognises your ide CD as a valid block device.

    Try adding this line to /etc/lilo.conf

    Code:
    append="hdc=ide-scsi"
    (The quote marks are important)

    Heres the top of mine as an example

    Code:
    $ cat /etc/lilo.conf
    # LILO configuration file
    # generated by 'liloconfig'
    #
    # Start LILO global section
    append="hdc=ide-scsi"
    boot = /dev/hda2
    message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    Then run

    Code:
    /sbin/lilo
    and you should get a return similar to "added linux" with no obvious errors.

    Then reboot. Once rebooted run

    Code:
    dmesg | less
    to see if your cd device is recognised as a scsi device.

    You should see an entry like this somewhere in the result

    Code:
    hdc: attached ide-scsi driver.
    scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
      Vendor: HL-DT-ST  Model: CD-RW GCE-8320B   Rev: 1.01
      Type:   CD-ROM                             ANSI SCSI revision: 02
    Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
    sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 40x/40x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
    Now when you run the mount command as in my previous post, you should get to see the files on the CD.

    Let me know how you get on.

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  9. #9
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Ok i did that but this is what it says when i try to mount /dev/sr0

    /dev/sr0 mounted on /mnt/cdrom
    No median found

    i think thats what it said, i did it 2 days ago so now ive forgotten, but i know it said no mediam found, but i put a cd in there, it didnt spin at all

    Also ive got internet working on it all i had to do was type "dhcpcd eth0" thanks sdously

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    thats ide-scsi emulation for ide cdroms in 2.4 you do not need that

    you need scsi support, probably via a module. but not ide-scsi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •