Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I've installed Slackware 10.2 on one of my Desktops and it all worked fine. I just installed it on my Laptop, and when I go to start KDE (by typing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    48

    Just Installed on my Laptop, KDE wont start?


    I've installed Slackware 10.2 on one of my Desktops and it all worked fine. I just installed it on my Laptop, and when I go to start KDE (by typing startx), it says command not found....

    I dont get it, I chose KDE as the default desktop in the install menu, and it works fine on my desktop if I type in startx. I tried startkde to and it also didnt work.

    Whats goin on?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You don't happen to be root do you?

    Silly question, but you did install KDE right?

    What happens if you search for startx (sorry, I forget where it is)?
    Code:
    find / -name startx
    Do that as root.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    48
    fixed. I reinstalled.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104
    actually with slack there is no reason to reinstall. Unlike other distros everything will happen the same every time. I tend to believe this was a configuration problem (i.e. not loading X) not a distro problem

    P.S. this is my 100th post!!
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    48
    well the first time i used the useradd command, the second time i used adduser to add my user and startx from that. I guess it didnt like useradd

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT --> PA
    Posts
    170
    damn syntactical differences!
    Chicks dig giant mechanized war machines

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    useradd just adds the user and group to /etc/passwd and /etc/group

    adduser is a proper wrapper script to setup the finger information, home directory, and login name / group

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •